The Door Falls Shut

I felt the silence growing

between us. Like he was stopping up

all his dopamine and oxytocin and

electrons

with corks

so none could get all over me – over us.

 

What’s odd is that the second he said we

weren’t right for each other, he made it

true. Up until then, it had been up in the air

siding on the

already-planning-our-first-dance-at-the-wedding.

 

I am so much, but mostly, right now, I am tired.

I am so tired of dragging him along, trying to lead

by example with my kisses and affectionate

tone. He didn’t want to give me any

back.

 

So let the door fall shut, heavy,

clinking with finality.

 

They say a window opens

but I’ll be damned if I don’t bust out through

one of the walls.

Kick through, because for so long I’ve just been

*this*

shy of right for another person and I’ve always been just

*this*

close to losing

my mind over it. I said once I didn’t pity

lovers who fell apart and I still don’t – no self-pity here. More like

self-get-your-shit-together-or-else.

Leave a comment